AbstractSpoon ToDoList on OSX

I have been using Abstract Spoon’s ToDoList app for a while, but I use a Mac Book Pro for my day to day work, and have a Windows 7 VM that I run when I need to do windows stuff. However ToDoList I want to run all the time, but I don’t want to run the VM all the time (because despite having 8gig ram, OSX kernel memory + 3gig for a VM doesn’t leave mw with much memory for OSX apps). So, I would like to be able to run an OSX version of ToDoList.

ToDoList: http://www.abstractspoon.com/tdl_resources.html

Enter Wine. Wine allows many windows applications to run on non-windows OSes, including OSX. I also use Dropbox to share content between computers. Here is what I did to get it all running:-

I then ran the following at a bash prompt

$ cd ~/Dropbox/ToDoList/bin
$ wine ToDoList.exe

This highlighted some missing DLLs, MFC42u.DLL and a bunch of API-*.dll. I copied these from an XP machine from c:\windows\system32 to ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/system32.

Having done that, running wine ToDoList.exe would start ToDoList.  I then created the following shell script in bin\ToDoList.wine

#!/bin/bash
ROOT=$(cd $(dirname $0) ; cd .. ; pwd)
cd $ROOT/bin
WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine nohup /usr/local/bin/wine ToDoList.exe >/tmp/ToDoList.log 2>&1 &

I then used Automator to create an Application that would run a shell script and pointed it at ~/Dropbox/ToDoList/bin/ToDoList.wine and save this to ~/Dropbox/ToDoList/ToDoList (.app)

Finally I located a suitable icon (.icns) to use (I had one from a previous use of WineBottler for the ToDoList app) and I copied that over the ToDoList.app\Contents\Resources\AutomatorApplets.icns

I now have a ToDoList.app in my dropbox, that when run, loads ToDoList.

About austinfrance

Technical Developer @ RedSky IT / Explorer Software
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to AbstractSpoon ToDoList on OSX

  1. Rao says:

    awesome! cannot wait to try…

  2. Robert says:

    Very late to reply to this, I know. However, copying the missing DLLs into Wine’s system32 folder did not work for me. Wine could still not find them So, I can’t run TDL.

  3. heiko says:

    Hi there, this worked for me (on MacOS 10.10 Yosemite):

    –> install winetricks (see http://wiki.winehq.org/winetricks), using “brew install winetricks”
    –> get dlls (see http://superuser.com/questions/341828/how-to-run-todolist-from-abstractspoon-in-linux) using “winetricks vcrun6”

    No downloading or copying dlls required.

Leave a comment